• Shqip
  • English
  • Thursday, 17 October 2019
  • Shqip
  • English
  • News Regional News

    Albania, Serbia and North Macedonia agree to a mini Schengen area in Western Balkans

    Albania, Serbia and North Macedonia will pave the way to the establishment of a mini Schengen area in Western Balkans.

    Leaders of the three countries met in Novi Sad, Serbia to sign the agreement which envisages free movement of people, goods, capital, and services between their three countries

    “We are doing this for the great benefit to our citizens, convinced that people in our countries deserve a better future, higher living standards and a much lower unemployment rate,” Serbian President Aleksandar Vucic, said in a joint press conference held following the meeting with Albanian Prime Minister Edi Rama and Prime Minister of North Macedonia, Zoran Zaev.

    In his remarks, Rama said that this was a rare occasion in which Balkan leaders gather without the so called “EU mentors.”

    According to him the agreement was driven by the need to improve the living conditions of people in the area, lower unemployment and grow economies.

    He said that the three countries aim to join the big European family although the latter has its own problems.

    “We can’t be hostages of our disagreements or of the past,” he declared.

    The Prime Minister of North Macedonia, Zoran Zaev, called on Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, to join the initiative as well.

    “Balkans is no longer a gunpowder barrel but a region of stability, economic development, dedicated to European integration and to improving the standards of its citizens,” Zaev said.

    The agreement is expected to be enforced in 2021 and citizens will be able to cross countries using their IDs. /Tiranapost.al/


    Reklamo biznesin tënd në TIP Na kontakto në [email protected]